Updated April 11, 2018
Nome Eskimo Community, Alaska
Family Services Home Services News
Tribal Services Who We Are Resources Calendar
Tribal Youth Programs Membership Staff Contact Us
Tribal Resources and Housing Programs
Improving the quality of life for those we serve.

Alaska Native Peoples of Nome

Welcome to Nome Eskimo Community (NEC)

The Alaska Native Peoples of the Nome area have lived on the Seward Peninsula since time immemorial. Our unique cultures and languages have experienced considerable changes, but continue to thrive and develop today in the community of Nome, Alaska.

Representing the Native population in Nome, Nome Eskimo Community’s 2900+ members reflects the many heritages of the surrounding region. Among our member rolls are Central Yupik, Inupiaq, St. Lawrence Island Yupik and American Indians whose lineage is tied to Tribes in the Lower 48.

For nearly 70 years, NEC has represented the political, social, and cultural interests of Native peoples in the community of Nome and the Bering Straits region. While our mission and scope has evolved over the decades, our commitment to serving our members and community has remained steadfast.


Registration for summercise will be on line at Norton Sound Health Corporation, Camp Department.

Fill out this NEC scholarship application.
We will notify the CAMP Department on this JOM scholarship and they will let us know if you handed in a registration form for your child(ren).

Applications must be turned in no later than Thursday, May 31, 2018.
(download Application here)


As per Housing and Urban Development  (HUD) this Annual Progress Report (APR)  will be made available in the Housing Office at 200 West Fifth Avenue Nome, Alaska. Please call 443-9120, Cliff McHenry Housing Program Director, with any questions.
(Download APR 2017 here)

NEW!  Scholarship Application Deadlines

High School Seniors:  The Deadline for 2018 graduating seniors to send in their scholarship application is Monday, April 16th, 2018 at 5pm.

Continuing Higher Education Scholarships: For the 2018 Fall semester, the scholarship application Deadline is Monday, July 2nd, 2018 at 5pm.

Jobs: Active Recruitment at NEC
Hospital Housing Program Manager
(Download Job Description)

ICWA Compact Support Specialist
(Download Job Description)

Environmental Assistant
(Temporary, Full-Time)
(Download Job Description)

Download an Application
Upcoming Activities

More from NEC:

NEW! Nome Eskimo Community Strategic Plan 2015 - 2020

Multi-Media Campaign
(see announcement)

Nome Eskimo Community Tribal Transit Links:
1. Community Route
2. Early Bird Route
3. Nome Preschool Route

  Tribal Council  
Shane Smithhisler,        President
Kevin Bahnke,                Vice President
Mathew Michels,           Sec/Treasurer
Alfred Sahlin,                 Member
Jeanette Koelsch,          Member
Gloria Karmun,             Member
Mary David,                  Member

Nome Eskimo Community

Promote Your Page Too
Nome Eskimo Community | Phone 907.443.2246